What are Chakras?

The human body contains hundreds of locations where there is a focused and concentrated flow of energy to and from the body. Seven of these feature prominently in Eastern and Western literature on complementary medicine and are commonly known as the seven major Chakras. “Chakra” is a Sanskrit word which means “wheel” or “turning” and the Chakras are similar to wheels in that they are spinning vortexes of energy. They are centres of energy located within our Etheric body, through which we receive, transmit and process life energies.

chakrasEach Chakra in the body is recognised as a focal point for Life-force Energy that relates to physical, emotional, mental and spiritual energies. The Chakras are the network through which your mind, body and spirit interact as one holistic system and each of the seven major Chakras corresponds to specific aspects of our consciousness. Each Chakra also has a corresponding relationship to one of the various glands of the body’s endocrine system, as well as to one of the seven colours of the visible colour spectrum.

A handy summary of the seven major Chakras and their corresponding aspects are given below:

Chakra Table

Balanced and Unbalanced Chakras

Chakra Balancing with Reiki

Base Chakra

Sacral Chakra

Solar Plexus

Heart Chakra

Throat Chakra

Brow Chakra

Crown Chakra